Walk Again

Album Details & Review


Walk Again

Release Date: May 30, 2021

Artist: Rajesh Nepali
Duration: 46:24
Lyricist(s): Rajesh Nepali
Producer(s): Rajesh Nepali
Record Label: Independent

Rajesh Nepali's 13-track debut album echoes his early but prominent influences from the glam and classic rock era. Fusing old-school elements with contemporary in-the-pocket backbeats and rich harmonic structure, the album showcases Rajesh's unique sense of composition and his proficiency as a multi-instrumentalist. Composed and performed in its entirety by himself undisturbed by anyone else's influence or interpretation, the instrumental aspect sits in perfect harmony with the vocals. The lush synths almost veer into an 80's pop fable sound, majestic yet beautifully dirty held together with a sense of classic rock sound. The power ballad 'Changes' serves as the prologue to the album, music video for which was released through Rajesh's YouTube Channel in 2020. The song has remained his most popular release since, and understandably so. Rajesh reflects on an inward journey of conflict; losing sense of identity and battling to realize the true essence of his character, embodying the album title 'Walk again' in the truest sense. In contrast to the rest of the album, Rajesh has embraced a more minimalistic lyrical approach in 'Lightening'; co-written with Trevor Pantoga among 5 other songs in the album. The hook "Your love is like a lightning; quick light then dark rise brightly" is repeated plenty giving the listener enough space to understand its depth. 'We're broken' embraces unorthodox instrumental accompaniment with a gloomy atmospheric motif throughout, backed by colorful piano lines and harmony along with a spacey synth brass section. The vocals build with and into the guitar solo; which feels almost like an extension of Rajesh's voice. 'Like its over' is a classic heartbreak theme reflecting on a story of infidelity. The narrative style of delivery over a slow shuffle blues sound is carried forward with a killer guitar solo by Rajesh, topped off with improvised-sounding vocal runs over the underlying hook giving the song a very spontaneous feel. 'Reality' and 'Pray' share a similar thematic sense of 'losing self and searching for higher power' in polarising approaches; the former being more self-reflective and the latter embracing a preachy narrative. The album ends on a high note with the final track 'Carry love'. The hook "Carry love, carry no pain" sums it up. The song feels like an affirming message to self. Though all the songs display Rajesh's virtuosic vocal prowess, 'Carry love' is the most multifaceted; also crooning through his R&B influences, reggae style delivery and is often vocoded. Rajesh has not shied away from the uglier aspects of wrestling with inner demons, suggesting that the struggles build his character. The candor and self-awareness that endears Rajesh to the throngs is evident throughout the album.

Noodle Rating :

1 Changes 3:50 Add To cart $0.85
2 Blue 4:08 Add To cart $0.85
3 Lightening 3:06 Add To cart $0.85
4 We're Broken 3:36 Add To cart $0.85
5 Life Is Toxic 2:48 Add To cart $0.85
6 Hold On 3:11 Add To cart $0.85
7 Can't Stop This Feeling 3:48 Add To cart $0.85
8 Like It's Over 3:32 Add To cart $0.85
9 Mind Your Manners 2:59 Add To cart $0.85
10 Reality 3:58 Add To cart $0.85
11 Pray 3:57 Add To cart $0.85
12 Little 3:54 Add To cart $0.85
13 Carry Love 3:31 Add To cart $0.85


1 Reviews
Basanta budhathoki

Basanta budhathoki

July 2, 2021

my word canโ€™t explain his music, really amazing inspiring, damn singer, good human ๐Ÿค˜๐Ÿพ๐Ÿค˜๐Ÿพ feeling so proud

Artist Fact Board